Содружество Доминики

Каскадные водопады, кристально чистая вода, обилие овощей и фруктов, цветы всех цветов радуги, пышные тропические леса… Нет, это не райский сад. Это красивая природа острова, Доминики.

Доминика, в переводе с латинского слова означает воскресенье, именно в этот день Колумб ступил на ее берега шесть веков назад и считается, что она самая молодая из Карибских островов. Первые жители Доминики, Индейцы-Араваки (Arawaks), были изгнаны Индейцами-Карибами Kalinago (Caribs), которые совершали опустошительные набеги на другие острова Вест-Индии в поисках нового дома, т.к. были вытесненны европейцами из других мест Карибского бассейна. Доминика стала одним из главных опорных пунктов этого народа. Они назвали свой новый дом Вай ти кубули (Wai’tu kubuli –Tall), что в переводе означает «ее прекрасное тело» – ссылаясь на горную местность. Карибское население Содружества Доминики, пережило множество сражений между Англией и Францией; англичане пытались захватить остров и жестоко расправлялись с местными жителями. Но тем не менее, в северо-восточной части острова, известной как территория Карибов, все еще можно встретить Индейцев-Карибов за плетением корзин или изготовлением каноэ (лодки индейских племен).

На протяжении 1600-ых годов как англичане, так и французы не имели успеха в своих попытках захвата Доминики. И все же, после множества сражений, в 1793 году по Версальскому мирному договору Франция передала Доминику Соединенному Королевству Великобритании, и в 1805 году она стала Британской колонией. С 1958 по 1962 гг. Доминика входила в состав злополучной Вест-Индийской Федерации, а в начале 1966 года после Лондонской конференции ей был предоставлен статус ассоциированного государства (статус объединенного государства). И, наконец, полная независимость к ней пришла 3 ноября 1978 года.

Несмотря на различный демографический состав Доминики, доминирующее положение занимают потомки Африканских рабов. На острове живут около 3000 индейцев-карибов, последние остатки доколумбова населения Карибских островов. Они проживают в резервации Сарибия, северо-восточного побережья. В последнее время наблюдается большой приток гаитян, которые ищут убежища от экономического угнетения в своей стране. По подсчетам июля 2006 года, население страны составило 69000 человек и, за счет миграции оно неуклонно сокращается. Более существенным является тот факт, что остров гордится средним процентом долгожителей, который в три раза больше, чем в развитых странах. Продолжительность жизни в среднем составляет 72 года для мужчин и 78 лет для женщин.

Французское влияние на повседневную жизнь людей Доминики по-прежнему очень сильное. Официальный язык-английский, но большинство населения говорит на местном креольском диалекте патуа (Patwa ), имеющим французское происхождение; его постепенно вытесняет англо-креольский (Cocoy), на котором говорят в северо-восточных населенных пунктах Уэсли (Wesley), Woodford Hill и Marigot; приблизительно 80% населения практикует Римско-католическое вероисповедание. Многие семьи на острове и географические названия Доминики имеют французское происхождение. Французское историческое влияние привело к яркой и уникальной культурной атмосфере, которая особенно ощущается и возрождается на Креольский День в ходе празднования Дня независимости.

Получение начального образования на Доминике является обязательным и начинается в возрасте пяти лет и длится семь лет (до 15-ти). Начальное образование, в основном, бесплатное и предоставляется правительством и религиозными школами, которые рассположены по всей по всей территории острова. Уровень грамотности на Доминике составляет 94%. В настоящее время на острове насчитывается около 55 начальных школ и 15 средних школ. Государственный колледж Доминики является единственным учебным заведением для получения среднего образования. Университет Вест-Индии (West Indies) имеет центр дистанционного обучения в непосредственной близости от города Розо, и две высшие медицинские школы: Росс Университет находится в городе Портсмут ( Portsmouth), а Медицинский Университет Всех Святых в самом центре г. Розо. Есть немало возможностей для обучения за границей, предлагаемых как Доминикой, так и другими дружественными государствами.

В настоящее время Доминика занимает 71 место по индексу развития человеческого потенциала (ИРЧП) масштаба с рейтингом 0,798. По данным правительственного доклада от 2006 года, уровень бедности составляет 30% , а уровень безработицы 23%. Валовой внутренний продукт Доминики или ВВП, по оценкам 2005 года составил 478 млн.

Сельское хозяйство стало основой экономики Доминики с тех пор, когда начиная с конца девятнадцатого столетия лидирующую позицию заняло производство лайма, а затем в 1900-ых годах бананов. Примерно четверть рабочей силы острова занята в сельскохозяйственном секторе. По последним событиям, Всемирная торговая организация (ВТО) вынесла постановление в отношение правящего преференциального режима ослабившего отрасли промышленности, которые уже были в состоянии упадка.

Следовательно, возникает новый импульс к продвижению экотуристического направления на Доминике. Поход через Долину Оопустошения (Valley of Desolation), живописная прогулка на фуникулере, прогулка на лодке по Индийской реке, окунуться в теплые источники Wotten Waven или расслабиться в вечерних джунглях Jungle Bay Resort, и это лишь некоторые бесчисленные возможности для туристов, любящих природу. Утверждают, что Доминика красива как под водой, так и на земле. Доминика входит в пятерку лучших мест в мире для дайвинга и в десятку –для наблюдения за китами. В 1995 году Национальный парк (Morne Trois Pitons National Park) был удостоен статуса Объекта Мирового Наследия.

Тропические леса, найденные на Доминике являются домом для некоторых из самых удивительных и уникальных флоры и фауны, и плодов всех вкусов и ароматов. Амазонка Сиссероу (Sisserou или Amazona Imperialis) и зеленый попугай с красной шейкой (Amazona arausiaca или Jacquot parrot) -попугаи, которые являются национальной гордостью Доминики. Эти два больших и зеленых попугая Доминики в основном обитают на возвышенностях в области Северного Лесного заповедника, вблизи города Портсмут. Попугай Amazona imperialis изображен на государственном флаге. Эта национальная птица олицетворяет стремление Доминики к возвышенным высотам. Barn Owl, Горный свистун (Mountain Whistle), ширококрылый ястреб (Broad-winged Hawk), а также различные виды колибри, как например Гранатовый колибри (Purple-throated Carib),также может быть обнаружен на острове. «Mountain Chicken», что в переводе означает «жаба», является местным деликатесом. Небольшое дерево с массой крупных малиновых цветов, прекрасная Сабинея килеватая (Sabinea carinalis), является национальным цветком.

The Commonwealth of Dominica

Cascading waterfalls, crystal clear waters, an abundance of fruits and vegetables, flowers in every colour of the rainbow, lush rainforests… No, it is not the Garden of Eden. It is the beautiful nature island, Dominica.

Dominica, from the Latin word for Sunday, the day that Columbus set foot on its shores six centuries ago, is said to be the youngest of the Caribbean islands. The first inhabitants of Dominica, the Arawaks, were expelled by the Kalinago (Caribs) who came to the island voluntarily or in search of a new home have been forced out by the Europeans as they settled elsewhere in the Caribbean. They called their new home Wai’tu kubuli –Tall is her body – in reference to the mountainous terrain. The Carib people in the Commonwealth of Dominica survived the many battles between the British and the French and can still be found weaving baskets or digging out canoes in the north-eastern section of the island known as the Carib Territory.

When getting in touch with us please do not hesitate to ask for advice and assistance regarding second citizenship programs and how applications are processed. In particular, support is available for the Dominica Economic Citizenship for details on fees and requirements will be provided. Having a second passport is a necessity these days and produces many benefits. Dual citizenship has clearly important these days for business and especially families located in unsafe areas. Citizenship by investment has also proven to be amazing in terms of estate planning.

Company formations in best tax havens for clients in addition to private limited companies for UK residents and UK company formations for non-residents are options to consider for tax savings and for the benefit of having a business company of high repute. Establish offshore trusts using our low cost registered agent services provided by experienced agents in offshore company formation. Offshore company registration is well regulated in the tax havens where offshore incorporation services are offered. Affordable offshore company incorporation are available for setting up an offshore company in tax havens where offshore company set up is made easy.

Incorporate offshore and use an offshore corporation for many business operations which is one of the advantages of incorporating an offshore company. For UK company registration a sole trader or ltd company can be incorporated. A sole trader vs. limited company will outline the benefits of each type of company and clients will choose between sole trader vs. ltd company the one which best suits their needs. Offshore incorporation saves time and money.

For great ambiance and the finest in wines and champagnes, Fusion Village Restaurant Dominica offers a wide selection.  Fusion Village Restaurant is located in Roseau, the capital of Dominica.  Fusion Village Bar is located in a quaint Creole cottage which is of historic importance in Dominica.  The Restaurant sits in a cobble stone backyard that has been tastefully decorated.

Throughout the 1600s both the British and the French were unsuccessful in their attempts to capture Dominica. The Treaty of Paris (1793) handed Dominica over to the United Kingdom from France and in 1805 it was made a British colony. Dominica formed part of the ill-fated West Indies Federation from 1958 to 1962 after which it was granted Associate statehood. Full independence finally came on November 3, 1978.

The best restaurant in St Maarten features a bar and lounge where guests are treated to live sports on 60 inch flat screen TV’s, pool, fuss ball and of course wonderful Italian food in St. Maarten. Basilico lounge also features a bar which stocks over 200 of the best European and New World wines.

Dominica‘s demography although diverse is dominated by descendants of African slaves. About 3,000 Caribs remain. Recently there has been a large influx of Haitians seeking refuge from economic oppression in their country. The population estimated at 69,000 in July 2006 is steadily dwindling due to migration. More significant is the fact that the island boasts of an average incidence of centenarians that is tripled that of developed countries. The life expectancy is 72 years for males and 78 for females.

The French influence on the daily lives of Dominica people is still very strong. The mass vernacular is a French creole called Patwa and Roman Catholicism is practised by approximately 80% of the population. Cocoy, an English dialect, is spoken in the north-eastern communities of Wesley, Woodford Hill and Marigot. Many of the family and place names in Dominica are of French origin. The historic French dominance has also given rise to a vibrant and unique cultural climate that can be felt particularly on Creole Day and during independence celebrations when food, dress, and music come alive.

Education is compulsory for all between the ages of 5 and 15. The literacy rate in Dominica stands at 94%. Early childhood education in the Commonwealth of Dominica is undertaken by private entities, particularly the churches, throughout the island. Currently, there are approximately 55 primary schools and 15 secondary schools on island. The Dominica State College is the only local tertiary learning institution. The University of the West Indies has a distance education centre in the vicinity of Roseau and there are two medical schools: Ross University in the town of Portsmouth and All Saints’ University of Medicine in the heart of Roseau. There are quite a few opportunities for studying abroad offered by both the Dominican and friendly governments.

Dominica is currently ranked 71st on the Human Development Index (HDI) scale with a rating of 0.798. According to a 2006 government report there is 30% poverty and 23% unemployment. Dominica’s Gross Domestic Product, or GDP, stood at 478 million according to a 2005 estimate.

Agriculture has been the mainstay of the Dominica economy since the late nineteenth century lead first by lime then by bananas in the 1900s. About a quarter of the island’s workforce is employed in the agricultural sector. Recent developments such as the World Trade Organization’s (WTO) ruling against preferential treatment have weakened an industry that was already on the decline.

Hence the new thrust to promote Dominica as an ecotourism destination. A hike through the Valley of Desolation, a scenic ride on the aerial tram, a boat ride up the Indian river, a dip in the warm springs at Wotten Waven, or a relaxing evening at the Jungle Bay Resort, are just the beginning of the countless opportunities for the nature loving tourist. It is claimed that Dominica is just as beautiful under the sea as it is on land. Two of the island’s best scuba diving spots have been ranked among the best in the world. In 1995, the Morne Trois Pitons National Park was accorded World Heritage Site status.

The tropical forests found in Dominica are home to some of the most awesome and unique flora and fauna and fruits of all flavours. The Sisserou or Imperial (Amazona imperialis) and the Red-necked or Jacquot (Amazona arausiaca) parrots are indigenous to Dominica. The two Dominica parrots are mainly found in the Syndicate area in the Northern Forest Reserve near the town of Portsmouth. The Sisserou, the larger of the two, can be found at higher elevations, is the national bird and is featured on the coat of arms and the national flag. It represents Dominica aspiration to higher heights and aspirations. The Barn Owl, the Mountain Whistler, the Broad-winged Hawk, and various species of the humming bird such as the Purple-throated Carib can also be spotted on island. The Mountain Chicken or crapaud, a local delicacy, is also native to Dominica. The small, red, yet beautiful Bwa Kwaib (Sabinea carinalis) is the national fl